LOW-IMPACT SURFACE PROTECTION OF DEVICES AND STRUCTURES IN THE MARINE ENVIRONMENT

Coordinator:

SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden AB, Sweden, Emiliano Pinori, emiliano.pinori@sp.se

Project Partners:

AZTERLAN-IK4, Spain, Basque Country, Enara Madaras, emardaras@azterlan.es

GAIKER-IK-4, Spain, Basque Country, Rafael Garcia Etxabe etxabe@gaiker.es

REPOL, Spain, Vanesa García, vgarcia@repol.com

WavEC, Portugal, Maria Teresa Simas, teresa@wavec.org

CorPower Ocean AB, Sweden, Javier Verdeguer, Javier.verdeguer@corpowerocean.com

Skandivavisk Ytförädling, Sweden, Ingvar Persson, ingvar.persson@ytan.nu

Recubrimientos-Mikra, Spain, Mikel Etxabe, mikra@mikra.es

Project Description / Objectives:

Engineered structures operating in or near the marine environment are subject to one of the most aggressive environment for material degradation. Corrosion, erosion, thermal excursion, and last but not least biofouling. Aiming to be reliable and environmental friendly the Ocean Energy Sector needs a surface protection system dealing with very hard challenges.

A novel technique is emerging from the shipping and transportation sector in the EU and this is so promising that can guarantee efficacy for more than 25 years with trace emission of organic biocide. This technique is open for novel applications and this is why from the ship sector now it can be exported to the OE sector.

The OCEANIC project will fuse together this new antifouling technology with the established thermal spray aluminum coating to give in a one fit all protection system for long-lasting corrosion and biofouling resistance in the marine environment. This will be called TSA-TSP or just OCEANIC coatings.

  • Start Date: 15/11/2015
  • End Date: 14/11/2018
  • Total Project Costs and Funding (€): Costs: 1,064,000€
  • Visit our Website: http://www.oceanic-project.eu